Parking area on River Road northeast of Farmville (see map)
A foot/bicycle trail created from the wartime right-of-way of the South Side Railroad takes visitors to the bridge and across the Appomattox River. The bridge (the original built in 1853) was a key point in April 1865 as Robert E. Lee made his way toward his eventual surrender at Appomattox.
Trail open daylight hours. The actual bridge is about a mile from the trailhead.
Park is free, but there is a small parking fee at River Road trailhead.