3122 Park Road, Henning TN 38041
This Confederate fort built on bluffs above the Mississippi River was abandoned in June 1862, then occupied by small Union troop detachments. On April 12, 1864, Confederate Gen. Nathan B. Forrest attacked 600 Union defenders here and easily overcame them. One of the great controversies of the war followed. Union sources reported the "massacre" of mostly black Northern troops who attempted to surrender. Trails cover the remains of the fortifications and the museum does a good job explaining the battle and aftermath. The river has changed course since the war and the fort no longer overlooks the Mississippi.
Museum open 8 am-4 pm. Free.